MtG Players Union
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Misconception about "casual" players

+2
occisor
TobiH
6 posters

Go down

Misconception about "casual" players Empty Misconception about "casual" players

Post  TobiH Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:49 am

I think there is one serious misconception about the so-called "casual" players. And that is, that everyone starts playing Magic as a casual player.

Yes, the decks and formats (multiplayer, for example) played by beginners tend to resemble those of the self-proclaimed casual players, and beginning players are sometimes scared by the tournament scene and reluctant to join it, but that's not exactly the same as genuinely not being interested in competition!

Take me for example: When I started playing Magic, for the first few years I only ever played together with four friends. We never went to tournaments, but we read about the big tournaments and their winning decks (at first mainly in print magazines, later increasingly online) with great interest. And of course we tried to build good decks, only we were limited by a lack of understanding of how those decks worked and why some cards were good. (Additionally, we didn't own that many cards since we bought booster packs (never singles) from a big department store with *big* price-tags…)

I guess most of us went through this stage of *not being involved in the Magic scene*. Now, let's say you got a time-machine, went back in time, and (after buying a bunch of Black Lotusses, obv) you happen to meet your own younger self and his friends playing Magic. Ask them "Are you casual or competitive players?" I'm pretty certain you'd get some blank faces and possibly the answer: "We are Magic players!"

We, by way of being here, are very much involved in the Magic scene. And everyone that is, differentiates between casual and competitive, but those that aren't, simply don't!