MtG Players Union
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

MtG Players Union and Representation

3 posters

Go down

MtG Players Union and Representation Empty MtG Players Union and Representation

Post  occisor Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:18 pm

I am relatively new to the debate over the PT changes, and the reasons for the formation of this union, (new baby means I've been away from mtg for a while), but it seems to me that a union like this can only act at best as a focus group for WoTC rather than an actual force for change. The biggest threat that the union can use against WoTC would be a boycott of an event, and you can't tell me that should this happen no-one who is quailified would turn up? - to an event where there is prize money and all the competition is away!!!

For one thing, only a tiny fraction of the actual MTG community is represented by the union or is even aware of it's existance. A disproportionately small number of players (mostly with a vested interest), are trying to change a decision taken by WoTC to affect a much wider community. I would be intersted to understand the proportion of sales of product from a) PT - Qualified players, b) PT - Aspiring Players c)Semi-casual players and d) Casual players. I suspect that the overall proportion of sales increase as you go through that list, with the bulk of the product purchased by people who do not visit the website, and do not even attend PTQ's.

If this union is truely intended to represent the interests of the magic community as apposed to the pro/aspiring pro community, then how can redisdributing money from events only attended by a minority of players, to events (such as gateway and FNM) attended by a much greater proportion of players be a bad thing?